Baked Falafel Patties

I very much enjoy the flavors of falafel but I less enjoy the process of frying foods, especially those that fall apart easily. I honestly just can’t deal with the frustration or the mess. So I like to bake them! Falafel is a food that comes from Middle Eastern cooking so the spice mixture is very fragrant and strong. And delicious. Depending on the specific country of origin, these spices may vary.

This recipe originated in my kitchen so I am unsure if the spices are totally authentic BUT they taste good to me. A combo of fresh parsley, garlic, paprika, cumin, coriander, and pepper made with dry garbanzo beans (chickpeas) as opposed to canned because the canned ones are too mushy, at least to me anyway. Start by soaking them overnight.

I simmered these with a teaspoon of salt and a bay leaf for 10 minutes and allowed them to rest for 30 minutes to give the beans a little more flavor. After draining, I put them into the food processor with garlic, onion, and parsley and pulsed until roughly chopped.

Next, I added my spices, flour, and water mixed with baking powder to give a little extra moisture and softer texture. Since I simmer my beans, I then put the mixture in the fridge for about 30 minutes to chill. After they have chilled, I took small handfuls and squeezed them firmly into patties. My mixture made 14 patties that were around 2 inches across.

It is a pretty crumbly mix. If you are having a tough time getting the patties to form, you can add a little extra flour and water to help them hold. I have mine on my silicone baking mat that I use for almost everything but a greased baking sheet is fine too. I chose to lightly spray the tops with cooking oil to help them brown a little in the oven. So 425 degree oven, about 15 minutes.

I served these in homemade pita bread stuffed with arugula, tomato, onion, and a cucumber yogurt sauce with salad and pilaf style rice (without the thyme) on the side.

Healthy and delicious! Hope you enjoy!


Baked Falafel Patties

Ingredients

  • 1/2 bag of dried garbanzo beans (chickpeas)
  • 1 teaspoon + 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley
  • 2 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
  • Pinch or two black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Cooking oil

Directions

  1. Soak garbanzo beans overnight
  2. Pour soaked beans into a snall pot with 1 teaspoon of water and 1 bay leaf; cover with water
  3. Simmer uncovered for 10 minutes, allow to rest for 30 minutes
  4. Drain garbanzo beans and remove bay leaf; add to food processor
  5. Add onion, garlic, and parsley to food processor; pulse until roughly chopped
  6. Add 1 1/4 teaspoons salt, flour, cumin, paprika, coriander, and black pepper to food processor
  7. Combine baking powder and water; pour into food processor
  8. Combine thoroughly in food processor but do not over process; mixture should still have texture
  9. Chill mixture for 30 minutes
  10. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  11. Press firmly between hands to form mixtures into 2 inch patties; add flour and water as needed to help them hold but mixture will be crumbly
  12. Place gently on greased baking sheet or silicone baking mat
  13. Optional: spray tops of patties lightly with cooking oil or brush oil gently onto tops to encourage browning
  14. Bake on top rack for 15-18 minutes
  15. Serve with rice, pita bread, and desired toppings!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.