Baked Spinach and Tomato Dip

Last night I really felt like some spinach dip with dinner. This dish happens to be vegan as we have been trying to reduce the meat, eggs, and dairy in our diets but you can easily use regular mayonnaise and add mozzerella and/or parmesan cheese if you wish! We have been serving more appetizers with dinner partly because it is more enjoyable to have a selection to choose from but also because it makes it easier to incorporate a variety of vegetables into our meal. I love having as many colors on my plate as I can!

This was a nice quick one to throw together. First, I pulsed the spinach in the food processor until small. You could chop this as well but I was feeling lazy. The pieces can be as big or small as you want them to be but mine looked like this.

I had some nice looking grape tomatoes on hand and wanted to use those so I quartered them and tossed them into the mixing bowl with about half of a diced onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic.

Next, I added my vegan mayo, mustard, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I mixed it up, spread it into an 8 inch baking dish and let the oven preheat to 425 degrees.

This bakes for about 25 minutes on the top rack. It should come out hot and bubbly and smelling lovely. While it baked, I toasted some slices of whole wheat French bread. Fresh baby spinach, tangy tomatoes, savory garlic on crunchy crostini… so good!

Pretty simple! This would also be great with tortilla chips, pitas, or even as a sandwich spread. Hope you enjoy!


Baked Spinach and Tomato Dip

Ingredients

  • 3 cups (packed) fresh baby spinach, pulsed in food processor or chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups grape tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup mayo, vegan or regular
  • 1 teaspoon mustard
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  2. Combine all thoroughly; spread into 8 inch baking dish (Note: if you choose to add cheese, especially parmesan, you will likely need to reduce the amount of salt you use!)
  3. Bake 25 minutes
  4. Serve with toasted bread, tortilla chips, pita bread

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.